Importing References from UPEI Databases

Notes:
Turn Off Pop-up Blocker
Direct = Direct Export   
Filter = Uses Import Filter

Academic Search Complete (Direct)
ACS Web Editions (American Chemical Society Journals) (Direct)
America: History and Life (Direct)
ATLA Religion Database (Direct)
Business Source Complete (Direct)
CAB Abstracts (Direct)
CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs) (Direct)
CINAHL (Direct)
Cochrane Library (Filter)
Compendex (Direct)
EconLit (Direct)
ERIC (Direct)
Google Scholar (Direct)
GreenFILE (Direct)
Historical Abstracts (Direct)
Ingenta (Import)
Inspec (Direct)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - V111, Complement Collections and Life Sciences (Direct)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (Direct)
MathSciNet (Filter)
Medline (Direct)
Military & Government Collection (Direct)
MLA International Bibliography(Direct)
OneSearch (Direct)
Project MUSE (Direct)
PsycARTICLES (Direct)
PsycINFO (Direct)
PubMed - National Library of Medicine (Direct & Filter)
Sage Journals Online (Direct)
Science Direct (Direct)
SciFinder (Filter)
SocIndex (Direct)
SPORTDiscus (Direct)
Springer Link (Filter)
UPEI Library Catalogue (Direct)
Web of Science (Filter)
Wiley Online (Filter)
Women's Studies International (Direct)
WorldCat (Direct)
 

Export/Import Directions

Academic Search Complete (Direct Export)

Note: RefWorks "How To" provides an image-based guide to exporting citations from Academic Search.

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

ACS Web Editions (American Chemical Society Journals) (Direct Export)

     Note: You can only export one record at a time from the ACS website.

  1. View the abstract of the selected article.
  2. Click on Download to Citation Manager.
  3. Select RefWorks in the Choose a Citation Manager Format drop-down and click the Download button.
  4. At the next screen click Export to RefWorks.
  5. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

America: History and Life (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

ATLA Religion Database (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Business Source Complete (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Fo         

CAB Abstracts (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Mark the references you want to export.
  3. Select Export/Save.
  4. Select RefWorks.
  5. Select Continue.
  6. Your records should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

CINAHL (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Cochrane Library (Import Filter)

  1. Perform search.
  2. Select citations to export and use the "Export Selected Citations" button at the bottom left of the screen.
  3. Select the Abstract and Citation format from the drop down menu.
  4. Choose the correct file type for your computer.
  5. Select Go.
  6. Save the file as a text document.
  7. Close the Download Complete box.
  8. Open RefWorks and select References.
  9. Select Import.
  10. Set the Import Filter to The Cochrane Library. (Listed under “The”)
  11. Set Database to Controlled Clinical Trials Register.
  12. Browse for the file of saved references, and open the file.
  13. Select Import.
  14. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

(Note: This import filter will work for the Cochrane Library Systematic Reviews, although the Periodical Field in RefWorks will contain the authors and title of the review in addition to the periodical title.)

Compendex (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click on the records that you want to select.
  3. Click on Download from the bar located just above the search results.
  4. Click on Save to RefWorks from the bar located just above the search results.
  5. Click on the version of RefWorks that you are using - Legacy RefWorks or New ProQuest RefWorks.
  6. Login to your RefWorks account if you are not already logged in.
  7. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

EconLit (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

ERIC (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Google Scholar (Direct Export)

  1. Access Google Scholar through the Library's Article Databases list, to activate the Library's links to the subscription journals and RefWorks account for off-campus users.
  2. Add the Import to RefWorks link to Google Scholar:
                From the Google Scholar screen, select Settings from the dropdown on the far right.
                In the Bibliography Manager section, select Show Link to Import Citations.
                Select RefWorks as the citation manager format.
                Select Save Preferences.
  3. Perform your search in Google Scholar.
  4. Click the Import to RefWorks link for the reference you want to import into RefWorks.
  5. The reference will appear in your RefWorks last imported folder.

GreenFILE (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Historical Abstracts (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Ingenta (Import Filter)

  1. Perform your search.
  2. Select the results to export and click on the link Update Marked list.
  3. Under Tools, select Bookmarking Options, then select Marked List.
  4. Click on Export Options, the select Plain Text.
  5. From the browser's File menu select Save As and save as a text file.
  6. Log into your RefWorks account.
  7. Under References, select Import.
  8. For Import filter/data source, select Ingenta.
  9. For Database, select Online Articles.
  10. Under Import Data from the Following Text File, select Browse, and locate your saved text file.
  11. Click on the Import button.
  12. Click on the View Last Imported button to see your references.

Inspec (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - V111, Complement Collections & Life Sciences (Direct Export)

      1. Perform a search.
      2. There are two options to export citations:
      a) Citations with "Export this Citation" may be exported one at a time.
          Click the corresponding link. 
          Select RefWorks.
      b) To export several citations at a time, first select the citations.
           Click Save Citations Requires Login. You will be asked to register for a         
           free account or to sign in if you have an account.
           Select the option Export Article Citations.
           Select RefWorks.
           References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported File.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

MathSciNet (Import Filter)

  1. Perform a search, and click Clipboard for each citation you want to select.
  2. View your saved citations by clicking Clipboard.
  3. Select format Citations (BibTeX) and click Saveclip.
  4. Use your web browser to save the results file on your computer as a .txt
  5. file.
  6. In RefWorks, select References/Import from the toolbar.
  7. Select BibTeX as the Import Filter/Data Source and MathSciNet (AMS) (BibTeX Format) as the database.
  8. Browse to find the saved .txt file on your computer.
  9. Click Import.
  10. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Medline (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Military & Government Collection (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

MLA International Bibliography (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

OneSearch (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to select.
  3. An open Folder icon will appear on the toolbar at the top right of the screen.
  4. Click on the open Folder icon to view the selected references.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder. 

Project MUSE (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Mark records.
  3. Click on Save Marked Results.
  4. Click on View Saved Results at the top of the screen.
  5. Select RefWorks from Export marked results to.
  6. Click on Export.
  7. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

PsycARTICLES (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

PsycINFO (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

PubMed - National Library of Medicine 

     New (ProQuest) RefWorks (Direct)
     Note:You must first install the Save to RefWorks tool.

     To install Save to RefWorks:

  1. Login to New (ProQuest) RefWorks.
  2. Click on the three dots icon in the toolbar.
  3. Click on Tools.
  4. Click on Install Save to RefWorks
  5. Ensure that your browser's favourites bar is shown, and then drag the Save to RefWorksbutton to the favourites bar.

     Installed Saved to RefWorks Tool:

  1. Perform search in PubMed.
  2. Click on Save to RefWorks in your browser's favourites bar.
  3. Mark the records you wish to import from the ProQuest sidebar on the right hand side.
  4. Click on the Save to RefWorks button, located at the bottom right of the ProQuest sidebar. (Note: you must import records from one screen at a time)
  5. Click on View in RefWorks.
  6. References will appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

     Legacy RefWorks (Filter)

  1. Perform search in PubMed.
  2. Mark records you wish to export.
  3. Select Send to, select Citation manager.
  4. Click Create File.
  5. Select Save the file (will have .nbib at the end of the file name).
  6. Login to RefWorks.
  7. Select References, select Import.
  8. Select NLM PubMed as Import Filter and PubMed as Database.
  9. Browse for the file of references.
  10. Import.
  11. References should appear in Last Imported Folder.

Sage Journals Online (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to export, using the Check Item box.
  3. Under My Marked Citations, select  Add to my citations.
  4. Select Email/Download/Save/Print.
  5. Under Format, choose Citation Only or Citation + Abstract.
  6. Select Download to Citation Manager.
    On-Campus users can use the Direct Export
  7. Select the link labelled RefWorks to start the direct export.
  8. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.
    Off-Campus users must use the Import Filter
  9. Select the link under RefWorks labelled "Click here to download and save the file".
  10. Save the file as a text file using the browser save.
  11. Login to Refworks.
  12. Select References, select Import.
  13. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as Import Filter.
  14. Browse for text file.
  15. Import.
  16. References should appear in Last Imported Folder.

Science Direct (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Mark records.
  3. Select Export.
  4. Under Direct Export select Save to RefWorks.
  5. You will be prompted to login to your RefWorks account.
  6. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

SciFinder (Import Filter)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save.
  3. Click Export.
  4. For Export, choose All or Selected.
  5. For Citation Manager, select Citation export format.
  6. Note the File Name (or change if you wish).
  7. Click Export.
  8. Log in to RefWorks.
  9. From the top toolbar, select References, and then select Import.
  10. For Import Filter/Data Source, select RIS Format.
  11. For Database, select RIS Format UTF-8.
  12. Click Choose File, then find the saved file and click Open.
  13. Click Import.
  14. Select View Last Imported Folder.

SocIndex (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

SPORTDiscus (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Springer Link (Import Filter)
     Note: You can export only one citation at a time.

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the title link to display the citation record.
  3. Select Export Citations.
  4. Under Select Download, for Export, choose ReWorks (RIS).
  5. The file containing the saved citation will download to your computer.
  6. Log into RefWorks.
  7. Under References, select Import.
  8. For Filter/Data Souce, select RIS Format.
  9. For Database, select RIS Format.
  10. For Select Text file, click Choose File to find the file with your saved citation.
  11. Click Import.
  12. Reference should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

UPEI Library Catalogue (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
    Note: Only one reference can be exported at a time.
  2. Display the full record of the reference by clicking the title.
  3. Click the RefWorks icon located to the right of the title.
  4. The reference should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

    OR    Search the UPEI Library Catalogue directly from RefWorks
             
to import a number of references at one time.

      1.  Login to RefWorks.
      2.  Select Search.
      3.  Select Online Catalog or Database.
      4.  Select University of Prince Edward Island.
      5.  Select Max. Number of References to Download.
      6.  Perform search.
      7.  Select the references to import (or Import to Folder).
      8.  References will appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

Web of Science (Import Filter)

  1. Perform a search and select the records you wish to save on the first screen of results. (Note: you must import records from one screen at a time)
  2. Find Output Records at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Select any additional fields you want to import, e.g., Abstract.
  4. Select Save to other Reference Software.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Select Save from the File Download box and save the file to your computer.
  7. In RefWorks, select References from the toolbar and then select Import.
  8. For Import Filter/Data Source, select Thomson Reuters.
  9. For Database, select Web of Science.
  10. For Import Data from the Following Text File, select Browse and find the saved file.
  11. Click Import.
  12. References should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Wiley Online (Import Filter)
     Note: The Direct Export feature for Wiley is not working. Use the steps below.

  1. Perform a search and select the records you wish to save.
  2. Click Export Citation.
  3. For Format, select Plain Text. For Export Type, select Citation or Citation & Abstract.
  4. Click Submit.
  5. Save the file to your computer.
  6. Login to your RefWorks account.
  7. From the toolbar, select References, then select Import.
  8. Select RIS for the Import Filter/Data Source and Multiple Databases as your Database.
  9. Browse to find the saved file on your computer.
  10. Click Import.
  11. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder. 

Women's Studies International (Direct Export)

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click the Add to folder link for any results you want to save.
  3. A Folder has items will appear on the right side of the screen.
  4. Click on the Folder View.
  5. Select All or choose the individual references to export.
  6. Click on the Export link.
  7. Select Direct Export to RefWorks.
  8. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
  9. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.

WorldCat (Direct Export)
     Note: You must first create a free WorldCat account to save items.

  1. Perform a search and select the records you wish to save.
  2. Select Save to [New list] or one of the selections from the drop-down, located above the results list.
  3. From Create New List screen, type in List Name, select Public or Private from List Privacy, and click Create New List.
  4. From the green box above the citations list, select the link for Your List.
  5. From your citations list, select the tab Citations Views located above the results list.
  6. For the Export Selected References dropdown, select To RefWorks.
  7. Click Export.
  8. References should appear in your RefWorks Last Imported Folder.